

Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 4 – after round 4 - Tour of the Sperrins on 5 May 2012

Date: 9th May 2012

Subject: MSA ANICC NIRC Update No 4 No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club: Magherafelt and District Motor Club Venue: Cookstown, Co Tyrone. Northern Ireland.

Starters: 34 (28 drivers & 22 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started)

Finishers: 27

The **2012 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** continued on Saturday 5th May with the Tour of the Sperrins Rally.

The event was contained within Davagh Forest with the start and finish at the Greenvale Hotel in Cookstown. A total of 34 crews started the event and 28 drivers and 22 co-drivers were registered for the 2012 championship. The weather was cloudy but dry and cold during the event. Six stages totalling just over 32 miles were planned for the day.

Current Northern Ireland Rally Championship leader Derek McGarrity driving his Mini WRC led the field away followed by Declan McNaughton in a Mk2 Escort and James Gillen in his Subaru Impreza WRC. Trevor Ferguson was the leading Group N contender. Late entries had been received from Kieron Graffin driving an Evo 9 and Camillus Bradley in his Mk2 Escort and although they were numbers 34 and 35 they were running near the front of the field.

The first four mile stage saw Derek McGarrity setting the fastest time by 0.6 seconds from Camillus Bradley. Drew Stewart was only a further 1.1 seconds behind in third. Trevor Ferguson was the fastest Group N runner sixth fastest.

Stages two and three were over six miles in length. On stage two McGarrity was 5.8 seconds quicker than Stewart with Bradley 0.7 seconds further back. McNaughton went off the road and took a stage maximum which dropped him out of contention. On stage three Bradley was fastest by 0.9 seconds from McGarrity with Stewart a further 0.8 seconds back. So after three stages McGarrity led by 5.8 seconds from Bradley with Stewart 1.8 seconds further back. Trevor Ferguson led the Group N class and was fifth overall.



Stages four and five were the reverse of two and three. On stage four Bradley was quickest by 5.4 seconds from McNaughton with Stewart 0.6 seconds behind. McGarrity was suffering brake problems and was a further 0.7 seconds back. Trevor Ferguson dropped more than a minute and lost the Group N lead to Raymond Mason.

On the fifth stage Bradley was again fastest and took six seconds off his stage four time. Second quickest was Stewart 10.5 seconds behind with McNaughton third quickest a further 1.2 seconds back. McGarrity had a puncture and dropped 40 seconds and was now third overall behind Bradley and Stewart. Mason was still leading Group N and held sixth overall.

On the last stage Bradley was again fastest and his winning margin was 26.1 seconds. Stewart was second some 21.3 seconds in front of McGarrity. Kieron Graffin finished fourth with Alistair Cochrane fifth. Raymond Mason finished sixth overall and leading Group N finisher.

In the Montgomery Motorsport Historic category, Andy Johnson and Jim McSherry emerged victorious in their Vauxhall Chevette.

Ian Graham/Averil Morton won the Ford Fiesta Sporting Trophy Ireland section.

Top 6 finishers:-

- 1. Camillus Bradley/Charlie Beatty Ford Escort Mk2 32:48.6
- 2. Drew Stewart/David White Ford Escort Mk2 33:14.7
- 3. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Mini WRC 33:36.0
- 4. Kieron Graffin/Neil Doherty Mitsubishi Evo 9 33:51.4
- 5. Alistair Cochrane /Gary McElhinney- Ford Escort Mk2 35:04.5
- 6. Raymond Mason/Paul Hone Mitsubishi Evo 9 35:14.8

Championship Class leaders after Round 4:-

Class 1 - Michael Nutt - Sean Topping

Class 2 - Trevor Ferguson - David McElroy

Class 3 – Glen Irwin – Rodney Wilson

Class 4 – Simon Hemphill – Ciaran McMenamin

Class 5 - Robert Erwin - Jimmy Graham

Class 6 - Andrew Bustard - David Young

Class 7 - Drew Stewart - David White

Class 8 – Simon Woodside – Steven Dowds

Class 9a – Ray Brammer – Lesley McGaffin

Class 9b - Derek McGarrity - James McKee

Class 10 – No competitors registered

Class 11 – Andy Johnson - Jim McSherry

Overall Leaders: - Derek McGarrity - James McKee

Sunoco MSA NI Group N Championship Leaders:- Trevor Ferguson/David McElroy

MSA NI 2wd Championship Leaders: - Drew Stewart/David White

MSA NI Junior Championship Leader:- Kyle Orr

M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Championship Leaders;- Driver: none registered

Co-driver Heather Kennedy

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Championship Leaders: - Andy Johnston/Jim McSherry

Ford Fiesta Sport Trophy Leaders:- Ian Graham/Averil Morton and Brian Crawford

The next round of the Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship will be the Mourne Rally on 9 June 2012.

Ends

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator





Photo of Camillus Bradley/Charlie Beatty by William Wylie Photography.















