Thompson and O'Connell winners at Cairncastle weekend!

Rounds 6 and 7 of the ANICC Millers Oils Northern Ireland Hillclimb Championship took place at Larne motor club's Cairncastle Hillclimb on Friday 28th and Saturday 29th June. 76 starters for the Friday and 81 for the Saturday proved the popularity of the event. Friday was to be a fantastic day with the weather, with the sun shining to help heat the new tarmac on the start line!

Graham Thompsons first timed run was a great time of 68.09, no one was going to get close to this time all day as mechanical troubles stopped Graham continuing the rest of the day. Gerard O'Connell was 2nd overall with his first run was also to be his fastest of the day, Richard McGimpsey was 3rd overall with his 3rd run time to stand and drop Alan Cassells to 4thoverall. Roger Gage was on a massive charge to complete the top 5 in his Maguire mini.

In the Modified saloon section, the charging Roger Gage was fastest, Gerard O'Connell was 2nd in his mk1 escort Rsr, and Ivan McCullough 3rd.

In the Roadgoing saloon section Andrew Robb was fastest in his M3, Conor Lavery 2nd in his Audi R8 V10 and Paul Montgomery in 3rd.

The class winners were Stephen Wishart, Andrew Robb, Paul Magill, Conor Lavery, Richard Munnis, Stephen Harvey, Dermot O'Hagan, David Hawthorne, Roger Gage, Derek Gurney, Gerard O'Connell, Alan Roddy, Ivan McCullough, Ryan McGimpsey, Graham Thompson, Gerry McGarritty, Alan Jardine.

Saturday was to be a challenging day with the bad weather striking, the competitors were able to get 1 dry practice run before heavy rain, hail stones, thunder storms came at 11am flooding the road and the parking field for the cars. The club did a great job handling the situation and held off with the rest of the runs until the surface started to dry out.

Gerard O'Connell was fastest overall, Richard McGimpsey and Alan Cassells was hot on his heels with less than 1 second splitting the top 3, Ryan McGimpsey was in 4th and George Stevenson completing the top 5. In the modified section Roger Gage again was fastest, with Gerard O'Connell in 2nd and Daniel Campbell in 3rd. In the Roadgoing section Paul Montgomery was fastest in his Subaru, with Andrew Robb in 2nd and Philip Cardy in 3rd.

In the classes, the winners were Garry McClurg, Andrew Robb, Conor O'Boyle, Paul Montgomery, Richard Munnis, Gordon Fogarty, Lee Kirkwood, David Hawthorne, Roger Gage, Dave Corlett, Gerard O'Connell, Alan Roddy, Daniel Campbell, Ivan McCullough, Ryan McGimpsey, Richard McGimpsey, Colin McDowell, Alan Jardine.

Friday Top 10	Saturday Top 10
1 st Graham Thompson 2 nd Gerard O'Connell	1 st Gerard O'Connell 2 nd Richard McGimpsey
3 rd Richard McGimpsey 4 th Alan Cassells	3 rd Alan Cassells 4 th Ryan McGimpsey
5 th Roger Gage	5 th George Stevenson
6 th Ryan McGimpsey	6 th Roger Gage
7 th Gerard O'Connell	7 th Gerard O'Connell
8 th Ivan McCullough	8 th Daniel Campbell
9 th George Stevenson 10 th David Hawthorne	9 th David Hawthorne 10 th David Francis

Our next event is on the 10th August at Garron Point Hillclimb, See you all there !