## Houston does it again !

Round 3 of the Anicc Millers Oils Northern Ireland Hillclimb Championship took place on Saturday 4<sup>th</sup> May 2019. This event was also a round of the British Hillclimb Championship and we welcomed over 20 overseas competitors. Again, this event was massively over subscribed with a reserve list of over 20 competitors.

We focus on the Ni event and on the first timed run Gerard O'Connell went fastest in his Radical SR8, with Chris Houston 2<sup>nd</sup> and Alan Cassells 3<sup>rd</sup>, Andy Hawthorne 4<sup>th</sup> and Trevor Roberts 5<sup>th</sup>. Trevor leading the Ni class 14 group. Graham Thompson had mechanical trouble for his first run but got it repaired and made the 2<sup>nd</sup> run. The class 14 competitors all very close on time and was to be a great battle all day. The 2<sup>nd</sup> timed run was to change things with Chris Houston pulling a fantastic time of 43.72 placing him fastest in the Ni event, Graham Thompson was back out for run 2 and was less than a second off with a 44.43, Gerard O'Connell was faster than his first run and did a 44.94, Richard McGimpsey appeared into the mix with a 4<sup>th</sup> fastest run and Alan Cassells dropped to 5<sup>th</sup>. All top 3 competitors went slower on their 3<sup>rd</sup> run , Richard McGimsey and Alan Cassells both went faster and ended up with 0.2 second splitting the pair, Alan reporting a slipping clutch on the last run.

The Modified Saloon Championship, Ivan McCullough was back in his Nissan GTR but unfortunately, he isn't doing a full season and has not registered for this year's championship. Regular modified saloon competitor Oliver Cormican had a transmission issue in practice and he didn't start the timed runs, Roger Gage was also missing from the results as his car was not ready in time for the event, Stewart Strain was top modified in his Peugeot 205, Daniel Campbell in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Alan Jardine in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

The Roadgoing Saloon Championship, Paul Montgomery was back out in his Subaru and was fastest, this being Pauls first Hillclimb of the year, Phil Cardy was 2<sup>nd</sup> and Michael McAllister in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

Our English Friends, We love to see them coming over to visiting and bringing with them their amazing machines which many are on another level, with different engine configurations many being ex F1 V8s, these are extremely fast. David Uren Matched the existing class record that Scott Moran set previously in 2016. David the only man to break the 40s mark with the rest of the top 5 on a 40 second run.

The Classes

Class 1 was won by Dennis Watson, William Heaney 2<sup>nd</sup> and Pete Storey in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

Class 2A was won by Michael McAllister, Andrew Robb in 2<sup>nd</sup> and David Gibson in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 2B was won by Paul Magill, Kevin McNamee in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Tony McLaughlan in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 3 was won by Paul Montgomery, Conor Lavery in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Phil Cardy in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 5 was won by Richard Munnis, Gardiner Mcillwaine in 2<sup>nd</sup> and James Perry in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 6A was won by Gordon Fogarty, with Stephen Harvey in 2<sup>nd</sup>

Class 6B was won by Steven Robb with Brian McDonnell in 2<sup>nd</sup>

Class 7 was won by David Hawthorne, Johnny Mckenzie in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Steven Hawthorne in 3<sup>rd</sup> Class 9A was won by Garry Cambell Class 9B was won by Gerard O'Connell, Alan Cassells in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Lee Kirkwood in 3<sup>rd</sup> Class 10 was won by Norman Harvey Class 11 was won by Stewart Strain with Daniel Campbell in 2<sup>nd</sup>, Noel Strain in 3<sup>rd</sup> Class 12 was won by Allan McDonald, Ivan McCullough in 2<sup>nd</sup> Class 13 was won by Jack Brien Class 14 was won by Darren Gumbley, Leslie Mutch in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Liam Cooper in 3<sup>rd</sup> Class 15 was won by David Uren, Wallace Menzies in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Richard Spedding in 3<sup>rd</sup> Class 16A was won by Jago Brett, Trevor McIlroy in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Paul Taggart in 3<sup>rd</sup>

## Top 10 overall

1 <sup>st</sup> David Uren	6 <sup>th</sup> Alex Summers
2 <sup>nd</sup> Wallace Menzies	7 <sup>th</sup> Sean Gould
3 <sup>rd</sup> Richard Spedding	8 <sup>th</sup> Graham Wynn
4 <sup>th</sup> Will Hall	9 <sup>th</sup> Chris Houston
5 <sup>th</sup> Jason Mourant	10 <sup>th</sup> Nicola Menzies

Top 10 NI event

1 <sup>st</sup> Chris Houston	6 <sup>th</sup> Andy Hawthorne
2 <sup>nd</sup> Graham Thompson	7 <sup>th</sup> Trevor Roberts
3 <sup>rd</sup> Gerard O'Connell	8 <sup>th</sup> George Stevenson
4 <sup>th</sup> Richard McGimpsey	9 <sup>th</sup> Ryan McGimpsey
5 <sup>th</sup> Alan Cassells	10 <sup>th</sup> Lee Kirkwood

We look forward to seeing you at our next event Knockagh on the  $18^{\rm th}$  May

Alan