## Morris Returns With a Bang!

Round 2 of the ANICC Millers Oils Northern Ireland Hillclimb Championship took place at Drumhorc Hillclimb outside Banbridge on Saturday 27/4/19. With 54 starters, Drumhorc is a favourite of the saloons and rally cars over single seaters due to its rally stage like course. There were 54 starters for first practice, with the storm looming over the course from the night before the first run was to be wet.

The weather did improve but there where several showers in between runs which kept the course slippy throughout the day. Fastest out of the blocks was Richard McGimpsey, with the returning Seamus Morris in 2<sup>nd</sup> in his Pilbeam. The McGaffin brothers in the family Evo rally car where 3<sup>rd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> with Oliver Cormican in 5<sup>th</sup>. Andy Hawthorne and Alan Cassells both had a fail on their first timed run, Andy damaging his nose cone and Alan having a spin, both where going for a fast run to move to the top but this wasn't to be. Both Steven and David Hawthorne where back out again dual driving their Westfield and where in the top all day, but David McClurg wasn't going to let them have it easy. Roger Gage is another top entry, but he had mechanical problems after run 1 and was to retire after.

The Weather was to play its part again with showers in between runs, Richard McGimpsey again fastest in run 2 but on the last Run Seamus took the lead with a fantastic run and pipped Richard by 0.35 of a second to take the event win, Seamus returning to Hillclimb's in his Pilbeam with a new Millington engine installed. Oliver Cormican had a great 2<sup>nd</sup> run to place him 3<sup>rd</sup> overall and 1<sup>st</sup> saloon. Matthew McGaffin was to marginally quicker than his brother Andrew to finish 4<sup>th</sup> and 5<sup>th</sup>. David McClurg was on great pace to finish 6<sup>th</sup> overall and class 7 winner. Andy Hawthorne got the car patched up and back out again and finished 7<sup>th</sup>. David Hawthorne was able to get the better of his brother Steven to finish 8<sup>th</sup> and 9<sup>th</sup>, Alan Cassells reported he took a cautious approach to get a time on his 2<sup>nd</sup> timed run keeping round 3 Craigantlet in mind a week later and finished in 10<sup>th</sup>.

The Modified saloon Championship, Oliver Cormican was fastest in his evo, with Roger Gage in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Daniel Cambell in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

The Roadgoing saloon Championship, Michael McAllister was fastest, Andrew Robb was in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Phil Cardy in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

## The Classes

Class 1 was won by Stephen Wishart, Gary McClurg in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Dennis Watson in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

Class 2A was won Michael McAllister, Andrew Robb in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Bryan Pearson in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

Class 2B was won by Paul Magill, Redmond McNamee in 2<sup>rd</sup> and Kevin McNamee in 3<sup>rd</sup>.

Class 3 was won by Barry Griffin, Philip Cardy in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Tony Grady in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 5 was won by Richard Munnis with Gardiner Mcllwaine in 2<sup>nd</sup>

Class 6A was won by Gordon Fogarty, Steven Harvey in 2<sup>nd</sup> and John McDowell in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 6B was won by Brian McDonnell, Stephen Best in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Stephen Robb in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 7 was won by David McClurg, with David Hawthorne in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Steven Hawthorne in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 8A was won by Roger Gage

Class 8B was won by Davy Aiken

Class 9A was won by Garry Campbell

Class 9B was won by Alan Cassells

Class 10 was won by Dean McDowell, Norman Harvey in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Derek Robinson in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 11 was won by John Devin, Daniel Campbell in 2<sup>nd</sup> and Stewart Strain in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 12 was won by Oliver Cormican, Matthew McGaffin in 2<sup>nd</sup> and brother Andrew in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 15 was won by Seamus Morris , Richard McGimpsey 2<sup>nd</sup> and Andy Hawthorne in 3<sup>rd</sup>

Class 16A was won by Gerry McGarrity with Ian Paget in 2<sup>nd</sup>

Class 16B was won by Alan Jardine

I look forward to seeing you all at round 3 on Saturday at Craigantet.