



#### Hankook MSA NI Rally Championship

E-letter No.3 February 2011



# Cyril Doherty 1966—2011



The Northern Ireland Rally community is in mourning after popular Group N competitor Cyril Doherty passed away suddenly while competing at the first round of the NI Championship at Kirkistown.

Cyril, from Plumbridge, Co Tyrone, was a well liked and highly respected competitor, finishing 3rd overall in the 2010 NI Championship and runner up in the competitive Group N category.

We pass on our condolences to the Doherty Family circle, and our thoughts are also with his co driver, Vinnie Boyd and the whole team at this difficult time.



McKinstry wins shortened Magic Bullet Stages Rally at Kirkistown...



The 2011 **Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** kicked off at Kirkistown on Saturday 19<sup>th</sup> February with the **Magic Bullet Stages Rally**.

The North Armagh Motor Club organised event attracted an excellent entry of 83 cars, and crews encountered an unusually mild day around the former RAF airfield.

Reigning Hankook MSA NI Rally Champion Stuart Biggerstaff was seeded No.1 on the event and headed an impressive top ten comprising no less than 5 past NI Rally Champions including Kenny McKinstry, Derek McGarrity, Connor McCloskey, Sean Haveron and George Robinson.

It was Kenny McKinstry who opened proceedings with fastest on stage 1, posting a time 1.2 seconds faster than Biggerstaff with Connor McCloskey a further 4 seconds back in third.

Stage two saw Biggerstaff line up to take the fight to McKinstry but engine failure part way through the test brought his event to a premature end.

Meanwhile, McCloskey was picking up his pace, finishing the second stage just 0.8 seconds off the leaders time and on stage three he sliced 3.1 seconds from McKinstry's lead to narrow the overall gap to 3.3 seconds at the halfway point.

Further down the leader board, John McGaffin had settled nicely into third overall ahead of past NI Ladies Champion Emma McKinstry with the leading Group N driver, Derek McGarrity, slotting his Evo X Mitsubishi into fifth overall.

At the halfway point Wesley Patterson headed the 2 wheel drive contingent in 15<sup>th</sup> overall with Andy Johnson's Chevette resuming its place at the head of the NI Historic category with 30<sup>th</sup> overall ahead of Dessie McCartney's Porsche 911.

However, circumstances changed somewhat when the tragic incident involving Cyril Doherty happened on stage four, and with the Doctors accompanying the crew to Hospital the results were declared final based on the times up to the end of stage 3.

#### Top 6 finishers and Provisional Championship Points after Round 1:

- 1. Kenny McKinstry/Ian Johnston Subaru Impreza WRC 15.10.1 12 points
- 2. Connor McCloskey/Francis Regan Subaru Impreza WRC 15.13.4 10 points
- 3. John McGaffin/Leslie McGaffin Subaru Impreza WRC 15.25.0 9 points
- 4. Emma McKinstry/Kenny Hull Subaru Impreza WRC 15.27.8 **8 points**
- 5. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 15.28.6 **7 points**
- 6. George Robinson/Tommy Speers Subaru Impreza WRC 15.34.6 6 points



Full results from all the Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship can be found at <a href="https://www.rallyscore.net">www.rallyscore.net</a>



# McGarrity takes Group N win in ex Gwyndaf Evans Evo X...

Derek McGarrity won the highly competitive Sunoco Fuels Group N category at Kirkistown. McGarrity, co driven by James McKee finished 5th overall with Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan in 7th and Mark Massey/Graeme Stewart in 8th.

#### Class 2 results:

- 1. McGarrity/McKee Lancer Evo X
- 2. Kelly/Flanagan Lancer Evo 9
- 3. Massey/Stewart Impreza N12B
- 4. McCance/Crozier Lancer Evo 8
- 5. Ferguson/McElroy Impreza N12





# Wesley Patterson dominates 2wd race on Round 1...



Lisburn's Wesley Patterson won the Hankook 2wd section of the Magic Bullet Stages despite a 10 second penalty for overshooting a chicane.

Patterson eventually finished 15th overall ahead of James and Heather Kennedy in 17th with the BMW M3 of Simon Woodside in 18th place overall.

#### 2wd results overall:

- 1. Patterson/McGarrity Escort RS
- 2. Kennedy/Kennedy EscortMkII
- 3. Woodside/Harryman BMW M3
- 4. Cochrane/Loughran Escort MkII

5. Hamilton/Johnston Escort MkII

Wesley Patterson (pictured here at Kirkistown in 2009)



## Montgomery Motorsport NI Historic Rally Championship 2011...

The 2011 Montgomery Motorsport NI Historic series kicked off at Kirkistown with 2010 NI Historic Champion Andy Johnson, co driven by Chris McSherry, resuming his place at the top of the tables.

Round 1 also saw the return to the local scene of Dessie McCartney and Maurice who finished runners up on the day with 37th overall.

#### **Historic Category Results:**

- 1. Johnson/McSherry Vauxhall Chevette
- 2. McCartney/Jellie Porsche 911
- 3.McDowell/Purdy Escort MkI
- 4. Brown/McGrath Hillman Avenger



Dessie McCartney made a return to the NI Rally scene and finished 2nd in the Historic category.

### Kirkistown Class Winners...

Class 1

Jonny Leonard/Jackie Elliot

Fiesta ST

Class 2

Derek McGarrity/James McKee

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X

Class 3

Matthew Mason/Peter Martin

Nissan Micra

Class 4

Mark Robinson/Brian Galbraith

Vauxhall Nova

Class 5

Stephen Baxter / Ruairi McGarrity

Ford Fiesta ST

Class 6

David Strain/Rudy Tate

Peugeot 205

Class 7

James Kennedy/Heather Kennedy

Ford Escort MkII

Class 8

Wesley Patterson/Martin McGarrity

Ford Escort MkII

Class 9

Kenny McKinstry/Ian Johnston

Subaru Impreza WRC

Class 10

Harry Brown / Martin McGrath

Hillman Avenger

Class 11

Andy Johnson/Chris McSherry

Vauxhall Chevette



#### Autofashion.ie Group A Cup

- 1. Gary White
- 2. Simon Woodside
- 3. Sean Haveron
- 4. Gary McEvoy



## Superdrive NI Junior Championship

- 1. Niall Henry
- 2. Matthew Mason



- 1. Emma McKinstry
- 2. Samantha Thom