

Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship

e-letter No.6 March 2011





## Two Wins On The Trot For McKinstry...

The 2011 Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship continued on Saturday 19<sup>th</sup> March with the McGrady Insurance Bishopscourt Stages Rally.

The **Ballynahinch & District Motor Club** organised event attracted an excellent entry of 83 cars, and crews enjoyed a sunny day's action around the former US Air Force Radar Station.

Kenny McKinstry, winner of round 1 at Kirkistown, again opened proceedings with fastest time on stage 1, going 1.7 seconds faster than reigning NI Champion Stuart Biggerstaff with George Robinson a further 1.1 seconds adrift in third.

Stage two saw Biggerstaff lose out to the leading bunch, only posting a fifth fastest time and allowing both George Robinson and Connor McCloskey to leapfrog him in the overall top three positions.

Stage three saw the top contenders maintain their places with McKinstry holding a solid 11 second advantage over George Robinson, while McCloskey narrowed the gap to Robinson to just 0.8 seconds at the halfway point. Stuart Biggerstaff was a further 10 seconds in arrears in fourth with Group N leader Derek McGarrity in fifth.

In the 2wd section, James and Heather held the advantage in 13<sup>th</sup> overall, one place ahead of their chief rival Drew Stewart.

The second half of the event continued as before with McKinstry resuming his position at the head of the timesheets. On stage four he pushed out his lead by another 2.6 seconds on his pursuers while McCloskey fired in a time 2.4 seconds faster than George Robinson through the test to claim the second place spot. Biggerstaff equalled McCloskey's time on stage four to keep just over 10 seconds ahead of the production class leader McGarrity with Ray Brammer and top lady driver Emma McKinstry well on the pace in the top ten.

On stage five McCloskey retaliated, reclaiming 6.7 seconds back from McKinstry's lead to leave just 7.3 seconds between the two with one stage to go while the rest of the top ten remaining fairly static.

In the 2wd race, James and Heather Kennedy had built up a useful 14 second advantage over Drew Stewart and in the process were just on the edges of the top ten overall and in the Historic category Harry Brown's Hillman Avenger dominated after the early demise of the Chevette HSR of Andy Johnson.

Stage six, and McCloskey took another fastest time, but it was not enough to deprive McKinstry of the win. George Robinson held off Stuart Biggerstaff to secure third with John McGaffin in fifth ahead of a Ray Brammer and Derek McGarrity won Group N with seventh overall.

In the 2wd category, the Kennedy's held off their pursuers and broke into the top ten in the process and Drew Stewart lost out on the 2wd runners up spot to Gary and Colin Price.

#### Top 10 finishers:

- 1. Kenny McKinstry/Alan Stewart Subaru Impreza WRC 34.10.8
- 2. Connor McCloskey/Francis Regan Subaru Impreza WRC 34.16.2
- 3. George Robinson/Tommy Speers Subaru Impreza WRC 34.27.1
- 4. Stuart Biggerstaff Damien McCann Subaru Impreza WRC 34.40.3
- 5. John McGaffin/Leslie McGaffin Subaru Impreza WRC 34.47.5
- 6. Ray Brammer/Matt Whattam Subaru Impreza WRC 34.57.2
- 7. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 34.58.5
- 8. Emma McKinstry/Kenny Hull Subaru Impreza WRC 35.20.3
- 9. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 35.37.2
- 10. James Kennedy/Heather Kennedy Ford Escort MkII 35.45.2

#### Provisional Championship Points after Round 2:

Kenny McKinstry 24 points

Connor McCloskey 20 points

John McGaffin 16 points

George Robinson 15 points

Emma McKinstry 12 points

Derek McGarrity (GpN) 12 points



Full results from all the Hankook MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship can be found at <u>www.rallyscore.net</u>





Photo by HANKOOK.ie

Tenth place overall secures 2wd race win for the Kennedy's...

Husband and wife team James & Heather Kennedy dominated the 2wd entry, fending off the early challenge from Drew Stewart and then Gary Price in the latter part of the event to collect the spoils at the end of the rally.

Event sponsor, Fintan McGrady, finished the event 15th overall and fourth 2wd ahead of the Toyota Corolla of Robert Erwin.

#### 2wd results overall:

- 1. Kennedy/Kennedy Escort MkII
- 2. Price/Price Escort MkII
- 3. Stewart/Park Escort MkII
- 4. McGrady/McGrady Escort MkII
- 5. Erwin/Ervine Toyota Corolla



### McGarrity takes second Sunoco Group N win in Lancer Evo X...

Seventh place was more than enough to ensure a Group N victory on the McGrady Insurance Bishopscourt Stages for Derek McGarrity.

McGarrity, overall winner of the event in 2009 and 2010, held a 10 second advantage over his nearest rival, Donagh Kelly, after the first stage and was able to steadily stretch his lead to an eventual winning margin of just under 40 seconds.

While McGarrity lead the class, Donagh Kelly had a day long battle with Mark Massey for second in the class. Massey gave some time away to Kelly on stage one but the two drivers swapped times back and forward over the next four stages until Massey dropped some time to his rival on the very last stage to end any chance of claiming runner up in class.

Third in category was the Subaru Impreza N12 of Trevor Ferguson/David McElroy ahead of Barry and Sara Greer. Top 6 Group N finishers:

1. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X

2. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9

3. Mark Massey/Graeme Stewart Subaru Impreza

4. Trevor Ferguson/David McElroy Subaru Impreza

5. Barry Greer/Sara Greer Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9

6. Christian Cochrane/Conor Lavery Mitsubishi Lancer Evo

# Brown wins Montgomery Motorsport Historic section at Bishopscourt...



Harry Brown and Martin McGrath emerged victorious among the Montgomery Motorsport Historic entry at Bishopscourt.

The Hillman Avenger pair lead home a gaggle of Mini's after 2010 NI Historic Champion Andy Johnson retired after stage 1 when the bearing in the Chevette's distributer failed and then his other main rival, Dessie McCartney, lost nearly 4 minutes on the first test.

Historic Category Results:

1. Brown/McGrath Hillman Avenger

2. Tougher/Armour Morris Mini Cooper S

3.Carson/Carson Austin Mini Cooper S

4. McCartney/Jellie Porsche 911

DNF Johnson/McSherry Vauxhall Chevette

DNF Hall/Leckey Ford Escort RS

Bishopscourt Class Winners...

Class 1

Dara Leonard/Denver Rafferty Fiesta ST

Class 2

Derek McGarrity/James McKee Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X

Class 3

Stephen Millar/Andrew Gamble Nissan Micra

Class 4

Andrew Bustard/David Young Vauxhall Corsa

Class 5

Robert Erwin/Neil Ervine Toyota Corolla

Class 6

Mervyn Williamson/George Hamilton Ford Escort MkII

Class 7

James Kennedy/Heather Kennedy Ford Escort MkII

Class 8

David Armstrong/William Armstrong Ford Escort MkII Class 9

Kenny McKinstry/Alan Stewart Subaru Impreza WRC

<u>Class 10</u>

Harry Brown / Martin McGrath Hillman Avenger

<u>Class 11</u>

Dessie McCartney/Maurice Jellie Porsche 911



Autofashion.ie Group A Cup

1. Keith Cheshire



Superdrive NI Junior Championship

- 1. Barry Greer
- 2. Matthew Mason



1. Emma McKinstry