

Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 1 — after round 1- Magic Bullet Stages at Kirkistown on 18 February 2012

Date: 20th February 2012 **Time**: 9:30 Hrs

Subject: MSA ANICC NIRC Update No 1 No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally

Specialist Committee

Event: Magic Bullet Stages Rally 2012
Organising Club: North Armagh Motor Club Ltd

Venue: Kirkistown Race Circuit, Co Down. Northern Ireland.

Starters: **76** (62 drivers & 54 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC)

Finishers: 63

The **2012 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** kicked off at Kirkistown on Saturday 18th February with the Magic Bullet Stages Rally.

The North Armagh Motor Club organised event attracted an excellent entry of 76 cars, and crews encountered a cold but dry day around the former RAF airfield. Six stages made up of two runs over three different stage layouts were planned for the day.

Before the start a minute silence was observed by officials and competitors in memory of Cyril Doherty who passed away during last year's event.

Reigning MSA NI Rally Champion Kenny McKinstry was seeded No.1 and headed an impressive top ten including, Derek McGarrity, Connor McCloskey, Kevin Barrett and Derek McGeehan driving the Mini WRC.

Derek McGarrity was fastest on the first stage and went on to record fastest times on four of the remaining five stages. Kenny McKinstry spun on the first stage and lost 50 seconds to



McGarrity. Connor McCloskey also had a spin and lost more than 40 seconds. On stage two it was McGarrity again fastest and after two stages he led Kevin Barrett by some 19 seconds while Derek McGeehan in the WRC Mini was in third place. Trevor Ferguson led the Group N class and was seventh overall while the leading two wheel drive competitor was Drew Stewart who was in ninth place overall.

At the end of stage four McGarrity had a lead of over twenty five seconds from Barrett. Ray Brammer had moved into third place but was just 0.3 of a second in front of fourth placed McGeehan's Mini. McKinstry had moved up to seventh overall. Drew Stewart in eighth overall was the leading two wheel drive competitor. Trevor Ferguson, in tenth overall, was still leading group N but only by 1.8 seconds from Neil McCance.

On the fifth stage McGarrity was again fastest and took a further eight seconds from second placed Barrett. Derek's lead was now over thirty four seconds with one stage to go. Kevin seemed secure in second with a lead of more than thirty seconds over McGeehan who had taken 3.3 seconds out of Brammer to reclaim third place. McKinstry had now moved up to fifth place but was more than seven seconds behind Brammer. Drew Stewart still held the two wheel drive lead and eighth overall. Trevor Ferguson was still leading Group N and held tenth overall. On the last stage Derek McGarrity was again fastest and his winning margin was 38.3 seconds. Kevin Barrett was second some 24.3 seconds in front of Derek McGeehan's Mini. Ray Brammer finished fourth with Kenny McKinstry fifth only 4.5 seconds behind him. James Gillen was sixth and John McGaffin seventh. Eighth place went to Drew Stewart who finished top 2wd ahead of the MitsubishiLancer Evo of Kieron Graffin. Trevor Ferguson finished tenth overall and leading Group N finisher.

Top 6 finishers:

- 1. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Subaru Impreza WRC 25:13.4
- 2. Kevin Barrett/Declan Tumilty Subaru Impreza WRC 25:51.7
- 3. Derek McGeehan/Laurie Smyth Mini WRC 26:16.0
- 4. Ray Brammer/Jody Wilson Subaru Impreza WRC 26:20.6
- 5. Kenny McKinstry/Ian Johnston Subaru Impreza WRC 26:25.1
- 6. James Gillen/Ken Sproule Subaru Impreza 26:32.3

Championship Class winners:

Class 1 – Michael Nutt - Sean Topping

Class 2 – Trevor Ferguson - David McElroy

Class 3 – Matthew Mason – Rodney Wilson

Class 4 – Simon Hemphill – Ciaran McMenamin

Class 5 - Stephen Smith - Paul Finlay

Class 6 - Mervyn Williamson - George Hamilton

Class 7 - Drew Stewart - David White

Class 8 – Simon Woodside – Steven Dowds

Class 9a - Derek McGarrity - James McKee

Class 9b - Derek McGeehan - Laurie Smyth

Class 10 – No competitors registered

Class 11 – Andy Johnson - Chris McSherry

Overall Leaders: – Derek McGarrity – James McKee

Sunoco MSA NI Group N Championship Leaders: - Trevor Ferguson – David McElroy

MSA NI 2wd Championship Leaders:- Drew Stewart - David White

MSA NI Junior Championship Leader: - Matthew Mason



M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Championship Leaders:- Driver – none registered. Co-driver – Lesley McGaffin

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Championship Leaders: - Andy Johnson – Jim McSherry

Ford Fiesta Sport Trophy Leaders: - Richard Tannahill - Brian Crawford

The next round of the **MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** will be the Bishopscourt Stages on 17th March 2012.

Ends

David Gilmore MSA NIRC Coordinator



Photo of Derek McGarrity/James McKee by Stewart McCloy Photosport





