

## **Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 6 –** after round 6- Hankook Down Rally on 7 July 2012

Date: 16<sup>th</sup> July 2012

Subject: MSA ANICC NIRC Update No 6

No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club:	Rathfriland Motor Club
Venue:	Castlewellan, Co Down. Northern Ireland.
Starters: Finishers:	<b>53 (</b> 26 drivers & 18 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started) <b>37</b>

The **2012 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** continued on Saturday 7<sup>th</sup> July with the Hankook Down Rally.

A total of 53 crews started the event and 26 drivers and 18 co-drivers were registered for the 2012 championship. The weather was good and dry during the event. Eight stages in the Castlewellan area totalling 67 miles were planned for the day. Four loops of two stages with service in Castlewellan after each loop.

Current Northern Ireland Rally Championship leader Derek McGarrity in his Subaru S12B led the field away followed by Derek McGeehan in his Mini WRC. Donagh Kelly in his Subaru S11 was at three and Kenny McKinstry was at four in a similar car. Current 2WD leader Drew Stewart in his Mk2 Escort was at five and George Robinson in a Mitsubishi Evo was at six. Current Group N leader Trevor Ferguson in his Group N Subaru was at eight.

After the first loop of two stages Derek McGarrity had a slender lead of 0.2 seconds from Donagh Kelly with Kenny MyKinstry in third 11.4 seconds further back. Geoff McMahon in a group N Evo 9 wa fourth a further 19.7 seconds behind. Derek McGeehan was fifth another 11 seconds back and Vivian Hamill was the leading 2WD runner in sixth 6.5 seconds further behind.



**Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs** 

At the end of the second loop Donagh Kelly had taken the lead from McGarrity by 0.7 seconds. McKinstry was still in third 15.0 seconds behind. McMahon was fourth 1 minute and 7.7 seconds further back and Derek McGeehan was fifth a further 8.3 seconds back. Hamill was still sixth a further 14.0 seconds behind.

At the end of the third loop Kelly was still in the lead 5.5 seconds ahead of McGarrity. McKinstry was still in third. Derek McGeehan was fourth with Hamill fifth and Drew Stewart in sixth.

At the start of the final stage Kelly was still in the lead by 6.4 seconds but McGarrity had a great time on the stage and beat him by 7.4 seconds to win the event by 1 second. McKinstry was third 1 minute 7.6 seconds behind with McGeehan fourth 3 minutes 32 seconds further behind. Vivian Hamill finished fifth and top 2WD runner with Ray Brammer in sixth. The top Group N finisher was Gerard McFall in fifteenth place.

Ian Graham won the Ford Fiesta Sporting Trophy Ireland section.

Top 6 finishers:

- 1. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Subaru WRC S12B 58:43.3
- 2. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan Subaru WRC S11 58:44.3
- 3. Kenny McKinstry/Sean Mullaly Subaru WRC S11 59:51.9
- 4 Derek McGeehan/Damien Connolly Mini WRC 1:03:22.9
- 5. Vivian Hamill/Graeme Henderson Ford Escort Mk 2 1:03:31.6
- 6. Ray Brammer/Damian Fleming Subaru WRC S8 1:04:18.8

## Championship Class leaders after Round 6:-

- Class 1 Michael Nutt Sean Topping
- Class 2 Trevor Ferguson David McElroy
- Class 3 Glen Irwin Rodney Wilson
- Class 4 Simon Hemphill Ciaran McMenamin
- Class 5 Robert Erwin Jimmy Graham
- Class 6 Andrew Bustard David Young
- Class 7 Drew Stewart David White
- Class 8 David Armstrong Steven Dowds and Paul Mulholland
- Class 9a Ray Brammer Lesley McGaffin
- Class 9b Derek McGeehan James McKee
- Class 10 No competitors registered
- Class 11 Andy Johnson Jim McSherry

**Overall Leaders:** Derek McGarrity – James McKee

Sunoco MSA NI Group N Championship Leaders: Trevor Ferguson/David McElroy

MSA NI 2wd Championship Leaders: Drew Stewart/David White

MSA NI Junior Championship Leader: Kyle Orr

M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Championship Leader: Co-driver Lesley McGaffin

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Championship Leaders: Andy Johnston/Jim McSherry

Ford Fiesta Sport Trophy Leaders: Ian Graham/Averil Morton and Brian Crawford

The next round of the **MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** will be the Ulster National Rally on 17/18 August 2012.



Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs

## Ends

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator



Derek McGarrity/James McKee on their way to winning the 2012 Hankook Down Rally. Photo by Kevin Glendenning - <u>www.kgrallypics.com</u>





