

Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 8 – after round 8- Lakeland

Stages Rally on 8 September 2012

Date: 10th September 2012

Subject: MSA ANICC NIRC Update No 8

No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club:	Enniskillen Motor Club
Venue:	Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh, Northern Ireland.
Starters: Finishers:	47 (11 drivers & 10 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started) 25

The **2012 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** continued on Saturday 8th September with the BJT Commercials Ltd Lakeland Stages Rally.

The Enniskillen Motor Club organised event attracted an entry of 47 crews and 11 drivers and 10 codrivers were registered for the 2012 championship. The weather was warm and dry during the event. Six stages, in two legs of three, were planned for the day. One of the three stages was more than fourteen miles long. Total stage mileage just over 41.

Derek McGarrity led the field away in his Subaru WRC followed by Gary Jennings in a Group A Subaru. Ian Cochrane was at three in a Group N Mitsubishi Evo 9 and Jonny Greer was at four in a Mitsubishi Evo 9. Vincent McAree was at five in his Group N Mitsubishi Evo 9 and Derek McGeehan in his Mini WRC was at six. Frank Kelly at eleven was the top 2WD runner in his Mk2 Escort.

After the first loop of three stages Gary Jennings and Jonny Greer were tied for the lead. Mark Donnelly in a Group N Mitsubishi Evo 9 was in third just 2 seconds behind. Martin Cairns in a Subaru WRC was fourth a further 8 seconds down. Vincent McAree was fifth 7 seconds further back while Enda McNulty in a Group A Subaru was sixth a further 9 seconds down. Ian Cochrane was seventh, Derek McGeehan was eighth, Derek McGarrity was ninth and Drew Stewart was the leading 2WD runner in tenth. Thirteen cars including Frank Kelly and Alistair Fisher failed to complete the first three stages.



Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs

At the end of the fifth stage Jennings held a 2 second lead over Greer who was just 3 seconds in front of Donnelly. It was all to play for on the final fourteen mile stage.

Jonny Greer was fastest through the final stage 12 seconds faster than anyone else and arrived back in Enniskillen as the winner. Mark Donnelly was in second place, and the Group N winner, 24 seconds behind. Martin Cairns finished third just 1 second back. Derek McGeehan finished fourth 1 minute and 22 seconds behind him. Derek McGarrity finished fifth 3 seconds further back and Ian Cochrane finished sixth another 3 seconds back. The top 2WD finisher was Eugene Devine in his Mk 2 Escort who was eleventh. Gary Jennings and Drew Stewart both went off on the final stage and failed to finish.

A very good event that was closely fought throughout the day. The NI Championship overall winner was not decided so the Bushwhacker Rally which is the final round in two weeks time will be very interesting.

At the end of the event fuel samples were taken from four of the leading championship runners and these will be sent to MSA for testing. Results will therefore be provisional pending the outcome of these tests.

Top 6 finishers:

- 1. Jonny Greer/Gordon Noble Mitsubishi Evo 9 40.52
- 2. Mark Donnelly/Sean Ferris Mitsubishi Evo 9 41.16
- 3. Martin Cairns/Kevin Flanagan Subaru WRC 41.17
- 4 Derek McGeehan/Damien Connolly Mini WRC 42.39
- 5. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Subaru WRC 42.42
- 6 Ian Cochrane/Ray Fitzpatrick Mitsubishi Evo 9 42.45

There were no competitors entered in the Ford Fiesta Sporting Trophy Ireland section.

Championship Class leaders after Round 8 :-

- Class 1 Michael Nutt Sean Topping
- Class 2 Trevor Ferguson David McElroy
- Class 3 Glen Irwin Rodney Wilson
- Class 4 Simon Hemphill Ciaran McMenamin
- Class 5 Robert Erwin Jimmy Graham
- Class 6 Andrew Bustard David Young
- Class 7 Drew Stewart David White
- Class 8 David Armstrong Steven Dowds
- Class 9a Ray Brammer Damien Fleming
- Class 9b Derek McGeehan James McKee
- Class 10 No competitors registered
- Class 11 Andy Johnson Jim McSherry

Overall Leaders: - Derek McGarrity - James McKee

Sunoco MSA NI Group N Championship Leaders: Trevor Ferguson/David McElroy

MSA NI 2wd Championship Leaders: Drew Stewart/David White

MSA NI Junior Championship Leader: Kyle Orr

M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Championship Leader: Co-driver Lesley McGaffin

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Championship Leaders: Andy Johnston/Jim McSherry

Ford Fiesta Sport Trophy Leaders: Ian Graham/Averil Morton and Brian Crawford

The next, and final, round of the **MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** will be the Bushwhacker Rally on 22nd September 2012.



Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs



Jonny Greer/Gordon Noble on their way to winning the 2012 Lakeland Stages Rally. Photo by William Neill – www.neillpics.co.uk

Ends

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator





