

Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 9 – after round 9- Bushwhacker

Rally on 22 September 2012

Date: 24th September 2012

Subject: MSA ANICC NIRC Update No 9

No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club:	Omagh Motor Club
Venue:	Omagh, Co Tyrone, Northern Ireland.
Starters: Finishers:	91 (19 drivers & 14 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started) 62

The **2012 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** ended on Saturday 22nd September with the McKelvey Bushwhacker Rally.

The Omagh Motor Club organised event attracted an excellent entry of 91 crews, the biggest field in the championship this year, and 19 drivers and 14 co-drivers were registered for the 2012 championship.

This was to be the championship decider as either Derek McGarrity or Derek McGeehan could still win it. The weather was warm and dry. Ten stages, in two legs of three and two legs of two, were planned for the day. Total stage mileage 35.

Derek McGarrity led the field away in his Subaru WRC S14 followed by Kenny McKinstry in a Subaru WRC S10. Gary Jennings in a Group A Subaru was at three. Vincent McAree was at four in a Group N Mitsubishi Evo 9 and Colin Britton was at five in a Group N Mitsubishi Evo 9. Mark Donnelly in a Mitsubishi Evo 9 was at six. Derek McGeehan in his Mini WRC was at ten and Vivian Hamill at sixteen was the top 2WD runner in his Mk2 Escort. 2WD leader Drew Stewart was at twenty and Group N leader Trevor Ferguson started at twenty nine.

After the first loop of three stages Martin Cairns in a Subaru WRC was leading by 7 seconds from Derek McGarrity. Kenny McKinstry was third 2 seconds further behind. Gary Jennings was fourth another 1 second behind. Colin Britton in a Group N Mitsubishi Evo 9, Mark Donnelly in a Mitsubishi Evo 9 and Frank Kelly in his Mk2 Escort were tied for fifth 6 seconds behind.



Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs

At the end of leg two, after five stages, Cairns held a 3 second lead over McGarrity who was just 1 second in front of Jennings. Britton was fourth 5 seconds further back and Donnelly was fifth 6 seconds further back. McKinstry was sixth 1 second behind. Frank Kelly was the leading 2WD runner in seventh 8 seconds further back. Steven Wright in a Mitsubishi Evo 6 was eighth and McGeehan was ninth.

At the end of leg three, after eight stages, Cairns held a 3 second lead over McGarrity who was 6 second in front of Jennings. Wright had moved up to fourth 9 seconds behind and McKinstry was fifth only 1 second back. Britton was sixth 2 seconds further back and Donnelly was seventh 7 seconds further back. Frank Kelly was the leading 2WD runner in eighth 8 seconds further back. McGeehan was ninth 12 seconds further behind.

McGarrity was fastest through the final stage 11 seconds faster than anyone else and arrived back in Omagh as the winner. Martin Cairns was in second place 13 seconds behind. McKinstry finished third 14 second back. Britton finished fourth, and the Group N winner, 9 seconds behind him. Donnelly finished fifth another 5 seconds back. The top 2WD finisher was Kelly in his Mk 2 Escort who was sixth 22 seconds behind. McGeehan finished seventh 2 seconds behind. Gary Jennings car went on fire at the start of the final stage and he failed to finish.

A very good event that was closely fought throughout the day. The NI Championship overall winners are provisionally Derek McGarrity and James McKee.

Top 7 finishers:

- 1. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Subaru WRC 34.33
- 2. Martin Cairns/Kevin Flanagan Subaru WRC– 34.46
- 3. Kenny McKinstry/Noel Orr Subaru WRC 35.00
- 4. Colin Britton/Arthur Kierans Mitsubishio Evo 6 35.09
- 5. Mark Donnelly/Sean Ferris Mitsubishi Evo 9 35.14
- 6. Frank Kelly/Liam Brennan Mk 2 Escort 35.36
- 7. Derek McGeehan/Damien Connolly Mini WRC 35.38

There were no competitors entered in the Ford Fiesta Sporting Trophy Ireland section.

Championship Class Winners after Round 9:-

Class 1 - Michael Nutt - Sean Topping

- Class 2 Trevor Ferguson David McElroy
- Class 3 Glen Irwin
- Class 4 Simon Hemphill Ciaran McMenamin
- Class 5 Robert Erwin Jimmy Graham
- Class 6 Andrew Bustard David Young
- Class 7 Drew Stewart David White
- Class 8 David Armstrong
- Class 9a Ray Brammer Damien Fleming
- Class 9b Derek McGeehan
- Class 10 No competitors registered
- Class 11 Andy Johnson Jim McSherry

Overall Winners: - Derek McGarrity - James McKee

Sunoco MSA NI Group N Championship Winners: Trevor Ferguson/David McElroy

MSA NI 2wd Championship Winners: Drew Stewart/David White

MSA NI Junior Championship Winner: Kyle Orr

M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Championship Winner: Co-driver Averil Morton

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Championship Winners: Andy Johnston/Jim McSherry

Ford Fiesta Sport Trophy Winner: Ian Graham





Derek McGarrity/James McKee on their way to winning the 2012 Bushwhacker Rally.

Ends

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator







Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs