

Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 1 – after round 1 – Eurocables Belfast Rally on 16 February 2013

Date: 17 February 2013

Subject: MSA ANICC NIRC Update No 1 No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club: North Armagh Car Club

Venue: Kirkistown, Co Down, Northern Ireland.

Starters: **76** (71 drivers & 63 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started)

Finishers: 65

The **2013 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** commenced with the Eurocables Belfast Stages Rally on Saturday 16th February.

The North Armagh Motor Club organised event attracted an excellent entry and 76 crews started the event. 71 drivers and 63 co-drivers registered for the 2013 championship. The weather was cloudy but dry and cold during the event. Six stages totalling 24 miles were planned for the day.

Current Northern Ireland Rally Champion Derek McGarrity driving his Subaru S14 WRC led the field away followed by Derek McGeehan in his Mini WRC. Kevin Barrett started third in his Subaru Impreza WRC and Peadar Hurson driving an Escort WRC started fourth. Emma McKinstry started fifth in her Subaru Impreza WRC and George Robinson in a Mitsubishi Evo 9 started sixth. Kieron Graffin in his Mitsubishi Evo 9 was the leading Group N contender. Keith White in his Mk1 Escort was the leading 2WD runner.

The first stage saw Derek McGarrity setting the fastest time by 6.0 seconds from Kevin Barrett. Emma McKinstry was a further 3.1 seconds behind in third. James Laverty in a Subaru Impreza was the fastest Group N runner and fourth quickest some 2.9 seconds back. Jonny Leonard in a Gp A Misubishi Evo VI was fifth 3.1 seconds further back and George Robinson was sixth 0.8 seconds behind. Peadar Hurson was seventh, Derek McGeehan was eighth and Trevor Ferguson was ninth. Simon Woodside was the fastest 2WD runner in tenth place.



On stage two McGarrity was fastest by 3.4 seconds from McGeehan with Barrett 0.9 seconds further back. Emma McKinstry was fourth fastest with Graffin fifth and James Laverty sixth. This left the first three as they were after stage one but McGeehan had moved up to fourth with James Laverty fifth and leading Gp N with Hurson sixth. Woodside was still the leading 2WD runner in fourteenth overall.

McGarrity was fastest again on stages three and four giving him a lead of 21.2 seconds over Barrett. McGeehan had moved up to third and was 16.1 seconds back. McKinstry was fourth just 0.9 seconds behind. James Laverty was fifth and the leading Gp N runner 19.4 seconds further back. Hurson was sixth a further 1.6 seconds behind. Keith White had moved up to lead the 2WD and was eleventh overall.

On stages five and six McGarrity was again fastest giving him fastest time on all six stages. He won by 32.4 seconds from Barrett. McGeehan finished third 16.6 seconds behind. McKinstry was fourth 13.7 seconds further back and Hurson was fifth 9.9 seconds further back. James Laverty was sixth and the winner of Group N some 11.6 seconds further back. White was the leading 2WD finisher and tenth overall. All of the top forty finishers are signed up for the championship so we could have a good battle in prospect throughout the year.

Top 6 finishers:

- 1. Derek McGarrity/ Neil Doherty Subaru WRC 26:14.8
- 2. Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullaly Subaru WRC 26:47.2
- 3. Derek McGeehan/Cormac McGrady Mini WRC 27:03.8
- 4. Emma McKinstry/Kenny Hull Subaru WRC 27:17.5
- 5. Peadar Hurson/Damian Connolly Ford Escort WRC 27:27.4
- 6. James Laverty/Francis Regan Gp N Subaru Impreza 27:39.0

Championship Class leaders after Round 1:-

Class 1 – Stephen Dickson – Wendy Blackledge

Class 2 – James Laverty – Francis Regan

Class 3 – Ian Dickson – Daryl McCanny

Class 4 – Stephen Smith – Alan Bryson

Class 5 – Mervyn Williamson – George Hamilton

Class 6 – David Crossen – Chris McSherry

Class 7 – Keith White – Martin Carey

Class 8 – Derek McGarrity – Neil Doherty

Class 9 – Derek McGeehan – Tommy Speers

Class 10 – Stanley Orr – Brian Cairns

Class 11 – Drew Wylie – Fintan McGrady

Overall - Leaders: – Derek McGarrity – Neil Doherty

MSA NI Group N Champion Driver - Leader: - James Laverty

McGrady Insurance MSA NI 2WD Championship - Leaders:- Keith White - Martin Carey

MSA NI Junior Champion - Leader: - Stephen Dickson

M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Champions - Leaders:-Driver – Emma McKinstry
Co-driver – Rebecca Kennedy

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Champion - Leader: - Stanley Orr

The next round of the **MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** will be the McGrady Insurance Stages at Bishopscourt on Saturday 9th March 2013.





Derek McGarrity and Neil Doherty on their way to winning the Eurocables Belfast Stages Rally.

Photo by William Wylie Photography.











Ends

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator

