

## Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 2 – after round 2 – McGrady Insurance Stages Rally on 9 March 2013

Date: 11 March 2013

Subject: MSA ANICC NIRC Update No 2 No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club: Ballynahinch and District Motor Club
Venue: Bishopscourt, Co Down, Northern Ireland.

Starters: **68** (55 drivers & 48 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started)

Finishers: 41

The 2013 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship continued with the Ballynahinch and District Motor Club's McGrady Insurance Stages Rally on Saturday 9th March at Bishopscourt Racing Circuit in Co Down.

A total of 68 crews started the event and 55 drivers and 48 co-drivers were registered for the 2013 championship. The weather was very wet during the event with lots of standing water on the stages. Fourteen stages totalling 34 miles were planned for the day. A new format with vast changes meant drivers tackled a loop of two stages before returning to the safety of the service area.

Current NI champion Derek McGarrity led the field away in a Subaru S12 WRC. Kenny McKinstry started second in a Subaru S14 WRC with Kevin Barrett third in his Subaru WRC. Derek McGeehan started fourth in his Toyota Corolla WRC and Peadar Hurson started fifth in the Escort WRC. George Robinson was sixth away in his Mitsubishi Evo and James Laverty was the leading Group N runner at seventh in his Subaru Impreza. The leading 2WD runner was event sponsor Fintan McGrady who started thirteenth.

After the first two stages Kieron Graffin in his Group N Mitsubishi Evo had a lead of 0.7 seconds from Mark Massey also in a Group N Mitsubishi Evo. Peadar Hurson in the Escort WRC was third 0.4 seconds further behind and Jonny Leonard in a Mitsubishi Evo 6 was fourth another 0.5 seconds back. Kenny McKinstry was fifth 1.4 seconds back and James Laverty was sixth 1.0 seconds further back.



Trevor Ferguson was seventh, Derek McGeehan was eighth, Derek McGarrity was ninth and Kevin Barrett was tenth. James Kennedy in his Mk2 Escort was the top 2WD runner in thirteenth overall.

On stages three and four McGarrity was fastest and led by 2.7 seconds from McGeehan. Leonard was third 1.9 seconds further behind and McKinstry was fourth 2.4 seconds behind him. Barrett was fifth 2.9 seconds further back and Massey was the leading Group N driver in sixth some 12.6 seconds further behind. Kennedy was still the leading 2WD runner in ninth overall.

After stages five and six McGarrity was leading by 5.8 seconds from McGeehan. Leonard was third 5.5 seconds back. Barrett was fourth 2.1 seconds behind and McKinstry was fifth just 0.9 seconds behind him. Massey was sixth and the leading Gp N runner 23.6 seconds further back. Kennedy was still the leading 2WD runner in eleventh overall.

After stages seven and eight McGarrity was leading by 10.6 seconds from McGeehan. Leonard was third 4.2 seconds back. Barrett was fourth 4.8 seconds behind and McKinstry was fifth 20.3 seconds behind him. Laverty was sixth and the leading Gp N runner 8.1 seconds further back. Kennedy was still the leading 2WD runner in twelth overall.

After stages nine and ten McGarrity was leading by 14.7 seconds from McGeehan. Leonard was third 3.3 seconds back. Barrett was fourth 10.2 seconds behind and McKinstry was fifth 19.2 seconds behind him. Laverty was sixth and the leading Gp N runner 2.5 seconds further back. Kennedy was still the leading 2WD runner in eleventh overall.

After stages eleven and twelve McGarrity was leading by 20.1 seconds from McGeehan. Leonard was third 1.8 seconds back. Barrett was fourth 12.3 seconds behind. Laverty had moved up to fifth and was the leading Gp N runner 18.9 seconds further back. McKinstry was sixth 1.6 seconds further back. Kennedy had retired and Alan Smyth was the leading 2WD runner in eleventh overall in his Citroen C2.

Leonard set the fastest time on stage thirteen and James Laverty was fastest on stage fourteen. At the finish however McGarrity won by 16.2 seconds from Leonard. McGeehan finished third 11.9 seconds behind. Barrett was fourth 10.4 seconds further back. McKinstry retired on stage thirteen so James Laverty was fifth and the winner of Group N some 11.1 seconds further back. Mark Massey was sixth, Kieron Graffin seventh and Trevor Ferguson eighth. Alan Smyth was the leading 2WD finisher and ninth overall.

## Top 6 finishers:

- 1. Derek McGarrity/ Neil Doherty Subaru WRC 43:12.7
- 2. Jonny Leonard/Jackie Elliott Mitsubishi Evo 6 43:28.9
- 3. Derek McGeehan/Darragh Mullan Toyota Corolla WRC 43:40.8
- 4. Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullaly Subaru WRC 43:51.2
- 5. James Laverty/Francis Regan Gp N Subaru Impreza 44:02.3
- 6. Mark Massey/James McKee Gp N Mitsubishi Evo 9 44:33.3

## Championship Class leaders after Round 2:-

Class 1 - Stephen Dickson - Wendy Blackledge

Class 2 – James Laverty – Francis Regan

Class 3 - Colin Price - James Stevenson

Class 4 = Andrew Wilson – Christopher McKeown Alan Smyth – Peter Thompson

Class 5 – Mervyn Williamson – George Hamilton

Class 6 – David Crossen – Chris McSherry

Class 7 - Keith White - Paul Mulholland

Class 8 – Derek McGarrity – Neil Doherty

Class 9 = Derek McGeehan – Tommy Speers Jonny Leonard – Jackie Elliott

Class 10 – Stanley Orr – Brian Cairns & John Magilton

Class 11 – Drew Wylie – Fintan McGrady



**Overall Leaders:** – Derek McGarrity – Neil Doherty

MSA NI Group N Champion Driver - Leader: - James Laverty

McGrady Insurance MSA NI 2WD Championship - Leaders:- Keith White - Paul Mulholland

MSA NI Junior Champion - Leader: - Colin Price

M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Champions - Leaders:- Driver – Emma McKinstry
Co-driver – Louise McClurkin

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Champion - Leader: - Stanley Orr

The next round of the Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship will be the Easter Stages Rally on 30<sup>th</sup> March 2013.



Derek McGarrity/Neil Doherty splash their way to victory on the 2013 McGrady Insurance Stages Rally at Bishopscourt.

Photo by William Wylie Photography.

## **Ends**

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator