

Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 6 – after round 8 – the Bushwhacker Rally on 28 September 2013

Date: 29 September 2013 No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club: Omagh Motor Club

Venue: Omagh, Northern Ireland.

Starters: 102 (26 drivers & 26 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started)

Finishers: 75

The 2013 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship continued with the Omagh Motor Club's Bushwhacker Rally on Saturday 28 September. The event started and finished in Omagh, with service centralised at Castlederg.

A total of 102 crews started the event and 26 drivers and 26 co-drivers were registered for the 2013 championship. The weather was sunny and dry during the event. Ten stages, in four legs, totalling 30 miles were planned for the day.

Championship leader Derek McGarrity in his Subaru WRC S14 led the field away followed by Michael O'Brien in his Focus WRC. Owen Murphy in his Mitsubishi Evo 9 was third away and Derek McGeehan was fourth away in his Toyota Corolla WRC. Fifth away was Martin Cairns in his Subaru WRC S12B. Sixth away was the leading Group N runner Sam Moffett in his Mitsubishi Evo 9. The leading 2WD runner was Frank Kelly who started ninth in his Mk2 Escort.

After the first leg of three stages Pat O'Connell, in a Group N Mitsubishi Evo 9, was leading by 1 second. Derek McGarrity and Liam Regan, who was in his Peugeot 206 4X4, were tied for second place. Michael



O'Brien was fourth 4 seconds behind. Jonny Leonard was fifth 2 seconds further behind. Martin Cairns was 4 seconds back in sixth place. Frank Kelly was the leading 2WD runner in eighth place.

After the second leg of two stages Derek McGarrity was leading by 5 seconds from Liam Regan. Pat O'Connell was third 1 second further back. Michael O'Brien was fourth 1 second behind. Martin Cairns was up to fifth 2 seconds further behind. Jonny Leonard was 3 seconds back in sixth place. Shane McGirr in a Toyota Starlet was the leading 2WD runner in seventh place 1 second in front of Frank Kelly.

After the third leg of three stages Derek McGarrity had a lead of 7 seconds from Martin Cairns. Michael O'Brien was third 4 seconds further back. Pat O'Connell was fourth 13 seconds behind. Enda McNulty was up to fifth 13 seconds further behind. Frank Kelly was 6 seconds back in sixth place. Shane McGirr in a Toyota Starlet was in seventh place 1 second behind. Liam Regan lost time when a turbo pipe came off and dropped to ninth while Jonny Leonard went off on stage six and out of the rally.

After the fourth and final leg of two stages Derek McGarrity had a winning margin of 8 seconds from Martin Cairns. Michael O'Brien was third 7 seconds further back. Pat O'Connell was fourth and the winner of Group N 24 seconds behind. Enda McNulty was fifth 8 seconds further behind. Frank Kelly was the leading 2WD finisher 6 seconds back in sixth place. Shane McGirr finished in seventh place 1 second behind. Liam Regan finished eighth, Derek McGeehan was ninth and Josh Moffett was tenth.

## Top 6 finishers:

- 1. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Subaru Impreza WRC S14 30:12
- 2. Martin Cairns/Kevin Flanagan Subaru Impreza WRC S12B 30:20
- 3. Michael O'Brien/Greg Shinnors Ford Focus WRC 30:27
- 4. Pat O'Connell/Andrew Purcell Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 30:51
- 5. Enda McNulty/Paul Sheridan Subaru Impreza 30:59
- 6. Frank Kelly/Sean Ferris Ford Escort Mk2 31:05

## Championship Class leaders after Round 6:-

Class 1 - Michael Nutt - Sean Tracey

Class 2 - Kieron Graffin - Paddy Robinson

Class 3 - Jordan Hone - Paul Hone

Class 4 - Raymond Doyle - Marc Nugent

Class 5 – John Gordon – Robby Knox

Class 6 - Andrew McCormick - Chris McSherry

Class 7 - Keith White - Paul Mulholland

Class 8 - Derek McGarrity - James McKee

Class 9 - Derek McGeehan - Niall Burns

Class 10 – Stanley Orr – Brian Cairns/John Magilton

Class 11 – Drew Wylie – Fintan McGrady/Sean Devlin

Overall Leaders: – Derek McGarrity – James McKee

MSA NI Group N Champion Driver Leader:- Kieron Graffin

McGrady Insurance MSA NI 2WD Championship Leaders: Keith White – Paul Mulholland

MSA NI Junior Championship Leader:- Jonny Leonard

**M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Championship Leaders:-** Driver – Emma McKinstry Co-driver – Wendy Blackledge

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Championship Leader: - Stanley Orr



The next, and final, round of the **MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship** will be the Down Rally on 19 October 2013.

## **Ends**

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator



Derek McGarrity/James McKee on their way to victory on the 2013 Bushwhacker Rally.

Photo by KG Rally Pics













