

Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship - Update No 7 – after round 9 – the Down Rally on 19 October 2013

Date: 21 October 2013

No. Pages: 3

From: Championship Coordinator

To: MSA / ANICC / Stage Rally Specialist Committee

Organising Club:	Rathfriland Motor Club
Venue:	Castlewellan, Northern Ireland.
Starters:	33 (23 drivers & 20 co drivers registered for MSA NIRC started)
Finishers:	22

The 2013 Carryduff Forklift MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship concluded with the Rathfriland Motor Club's Down Rally on Saturday 19 October. The event started and finished in Castlewellan, with service in Castlewellan Forest Park.

A total of 33 crews started the event and 23 drivers and 20 co-drivers were registered for the 2013 championship. The weather was sunny and dry in the morning but showery in the afternoon. Six stages, in four loops, totalling approx. 30 miles were planned for the day.

Kenny McKinstry in his Subaru WRC S14 led the field away followed by Desi Henry in his Mitsubishi Evo 6. Jonny Leonard in his Mitsubishi Evo 6 was third away and Championship leader Derek McGarrity was fourth away in a Group N Subaru Impreza. Fifth away was Kevin Barrett in his Subaru Impreza WRC. Sixth away was the Group N leader Kieron Graffin in his Mitsubishi Evo 9. The leading 2WD runner was Shane McGirr who started seventh in his Toyota Starlet.

Kenny McKinstry was fastest on the first stage but Desi Henry who started behind him went off and blocked the stage so the following eight runners were given the same time as Kenny.



After the second loop of two stages Kenny McKinstry arrived back in service with a lead of 29.5 seconds from Shane McGirr. Jonny Leonard was third 0.9 seconds further back. Derek McGarrity was fourth just 0.6 seconds behind. Gareth Sayers in a Mitsubishi Evo was fifth 5.2 seconds behind. Paul Killen in a Mk2 Escort was sixth 1.7 seconds further behind.

After the third loop of two stages Kenny McKinstry arrived back in service with a lead of 42.3 seconds from Gareth Sayers. Jonny Leonard was third 16.1 seconds further back. Niall Henry was fourth 32.2 seconds behind. Kieron Graffin was fifth 4.3 seconds further back. Paul Killen was sixth 1.1 seconds further behind. Shane McGirr had slid off and out of the rally. Derek McGarrity was back in seventh place.

After the fourth and final loop Kenny McKinstry arrived at the finish with a winning margin of 39.7 seconds from Gareth Sayers. Jonny Leonard was third 44.8 seconds further back. Championship winner Derek McGarrity finished fourth and won Group N 25.4 seconds further back. Kieron Graffin was fifth 2.7 seconds back. Paul Killen was sixth and the leading 2WD finisher 17.6 seconds behind. Niall Henry went off on the last stage and out of the rally.

Derek McGarrity and James McKee are the overall winners of the NI Championship while Kieron Graffin is the winner of the Group N Drivers Championship.

Top 6 finishers:-

- 1. Kenny McKinstry/Kenny Hull Subaru Impreza WRC S14 39:12.4
- 2. Gareth Sayers/Gareth Gilchrist Mitsubishi Evo 39:52.1
- 3. Jonny Leonard/Niall Burns Mitsubishi Evo 40:36.9
- 4. Derek McGarrity/James McKee Subaru Impreza N12 41:02.3
- 5. Kieron Graffin/Paddy Robinson Mitsubishi Evo 41:05.0
- 6. Paul Killen/Barry Savage Ford Escort Mk2 41:22.6

Provisional Championship Class Winners:-

- Class 1 Michael Nutt Sean Tracey
- Class 2 Kieron Graffin Paddy Robinson
- Class 3 Jordan Hone Paul Hone
- Class 4 Raymond Doyle Marc Nugent
- Class 5 John Gordon Robert Knox
- Class 6 Mark McDonald Robin Pitts
- Class 7 Keith White Paul Mulholland
- Class 8 Kevin Barrett Sean Mullally
- Class 9 Jonny Leonard Niall Burns
- Class 10 Stanley Orr Brian Cairns
- Class 11 Drew Wylie Fintan McGrady/Sean Devlin

Overall Winners: – Derek McGarrity – James McKee

MSA NI Group N Champion Driver Winner:- Kieron Graffin

McGrady Insurance MSA NI 2WD Championship Winners:- Keith White – Paul Mulholland

MSA NI Junior Championship Winner:- Jonny Leonard

M E Crowe MSA NI Ladies Championship Winners:- Co-driver – Wendy Blackledge

Montgomery Motorsport Historic Championship Winner:- Stanley Orr

Autofashion Group A Cup Winner:- Jonny Leonard



Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs

Ends

David Gilmore Championship Coordinator



Kenny McKinstry/Kenny Hull on their way to victory on the 2013 Down Rally.

Photo: Philip Stewart -- www.philpics.net





