For Immediate Release: 6th September 2014

Kelly is the Hero on Lakeland Stages Rally!

Round five of the 2014 McGrady Insurance MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship took place on the Samdec Security Services Lakeland Stages Rally, on Saturday 6th September. The Enniskillen Motor Club is celebrating its 50th birthday, and with a low entry fee modelled on their 1964 inception, the prospect of winning some of Bertie Fisher's old trophies, kindly donated by his wife Gladys, and for young driver's a prize including a trip to WRC Rally GB on offer from Gerry McGarrity, it all helped to create a great atmosphere in sunny Enniskillen for the start.

Quite a contrast indeed from twelve months ago when the rally failed to run, as the up to 1650cc front wheel drive cars lead away the strong field of nearly ninety cars. Conor Kelly's Nissan Sunny would win this class, from Dominic Leonard's Honda, and Jordan Hone's smaller engine Micra. There was to be an added bonus for 18 year old Jordan, as his class winning performance earned him the McGarrity Motorsport prize at the event prize-giving.

The big attention was focused on the cars behind and Donagh Kelly led the four-wheel drive runners away on his first outing in the McGeehan Mini WRC. Local co-driver Mark Cassidy was along for the ride and not surprisingly they were acclimitising on the early stages, as Josh Moffett streaked into the lead in a newly built Group A Lancer Evo 9. It was a lead that he held until stage three, the eleven mile Ballintempo test where Donagh took the lead but Josh wasn't finished and promptly moved in front again, commanding a five second advantage after six of the eight stages. It was a miracle that Josh was leading after a heavy testing accident the previous night had left Gerry McGarrity with an all-night rebuild, but the car cried enough on stage seven, and Donagh cruised to victory.

Desi Henry in another Group A Evo 9 eventually climbed to second place, with Martin Cairns third in his S14 WRC Impreza. Tipperary's Pat O'Connell put in another strong performance to claim fourth, ahead of a subdued Kenny McKinstry, and Group N winner Sam Moffett in sixth. In seventh was the two wheel drive winner Adrian Hetherington, with Alastair Cochrane in twelfth picking up valuable points in the Carryduff Forklift two-wheel drive series. Early leader of the two-wheel drive runners was the irrepressible Frank Kelly but he dropped minutes stuck in ditch on stage three. Local man Raymond Johnston was third of the two-wheel driver runners, and a fine fourteenth overall in his Historic MK2 Escort RS1800. Other runners inside the top ten included Omagh's James Gillen despite his Impreza cutting out during the day, Marty McKenna in another Subaru and Niall Henry who was the second Group N runner home. A notable absentee from this rally was championship leader Derek McGarrity.

The next round of the McGrady Insurance MSA NI Rally Championship is now on the Bushwhacker Rally on

September 27th. This reserve event was brought after the cancellation due to the tragic accident of the Ulster				
National Rally. To keep up to date please check out the NIRC Facebook page- <u>http://www.facebook.com/nirallying</u> and check				
out <u>www.anicc.org.uk</u> for the final points positions, series calendar etc.				
McGrady Insurance NI Rally Championship- Rnd 5- Samdec Security Lakeland Stages Rally Positions				

1	Donagh Kelly/ Mark Cassidy	Mini Cooper WRC	43m 36s
2	Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan	Mitsubishi Evo 9	+33s
3	Martin Cairns/ Kevin Flanagan	Subaru Impreza S14	+43s
4	Pat O'Connell/ Derek Gebbs	Mitsubishi Evo 9	+53s
5	Kenny McKinstry/Kenny Hull	Subaru Impreza S14	+1m01s
6	Sam Moffett/ James O'Reilly	Mitsubishi Evo 9 N	+1m17s
7	Adrian Hetherington/Gary Nolan	Ford Escort MK2	+2m19s
8	James Gillen/Pierce Doheny	Subaru Impreza WRC	+2m28s
9	Marty McKenna/Martin McGarrity	Subaru Impreza WRC	+2m32s
10	Niall Henry/John Rowan	Mitsubishi Evo 9 N	+2m46s



