## Cairns in Command on Bushwhacker Stages Rally!

Round six of the 2014 McGrady Insurance MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship took place on the McKelvey Bushwhacker Rally, on Saturday 27th September. The Omagh Motor Club staged an eleven stage gravel event, over some of the famous forests such as Lough Braden, Carrickaholton and Slievedoo. The event, originally a reserve round of the Northern Ireland Rally series was slotted in as round six, after the unfortunate cancellation of the Ulster National Rally. There was an impressive 116 entrants for the Omagh event, but championship leader Derek McGarrity was not amongst them.

From stage one it was Strabane driver Martin Cairns in his Subaru Impreza S14 WRC who took the lead. Three seconds faster than his nearest rival on the short Lough Braden South opener he held the lead until the third Glenderg stage. There young Monaghan charger Josh Moffett moved ahead in his new Group A Mitsubishi Evo 9. This Gerry McGarrity built clubman car made an impressive debut on the Lakeland and was showing speed again, but it would not be enough as Cairns moved back into the lead after a scorching time on the fifth Carrickaholton stage. This time it was a lead he was never to lose, hanging onto a seventeen second victory over Josh Moffett. From stage two Desi Henry grabbed third place and finished there in his Group A Evo 9. Local man James Gillen was third on the first stage, but went off the road on stage three to retire his Impreza. Multiple NI Rally Champion Kenny McKinstry took fourth in his S12B Impreza, gradually moving up after a steady start.

In what had to be the drive of the event, Frank Kelly had pedalled his two wheel drive MK2 Escort up to fourth place after eight stages, but cruelly he literally ran out of drive on the penultimate stage, when the half-shaft broke in the back axle. It left the Carryduff Forklift two wheel drive honours going to Adrian Hetherington who also had a fine run to claim eighth overall, just two places ahead of another charging MK2 of Seamus O'Connell. Raymond and Marc Johnston where the Montgomery Motorsport Historic winners in their Escort RS1800, just nine seconds in front of rivals Ian Millar and Ronan O'Neill in a similar car.

Sam Moffett was the Group N victor in this Evo 9 in ninth place, recovering from early delays. Other top ten finishers included Tipperary's Pat O'Connell in fifth, Enda McNulty in his clubman Group A Subaru in sixth and young Omagh charger Mark Donnelly debuting an Evo 9 in seventh.

The final round of the McGrady Insurance MSA NI Rally Championship is the closed road Down Rally on October

18th. To keep up to date please check out the NIRC Facebook page- <u>http://www.facebook.com/nirallying</u> and check out				
<u>www.anicc.org.uk</u> for the final points positions.				
McGrady Insurance NI Rally Championship- Rnd 6- McKelvey Bushwhacker Rally Positions				
1	Martin Cairne / Cary McElhinney Subary Impress MDC 22m 19c			

1	Martin Cairns/ Gary McElhinney	Subaru Impreza WRC	32m 18s
2	Josh Moffett/ Jason McKenna	Mitsubishi Evo 9	+17s
3	Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan	Mitsubishi Evo 9	+43s
4	Kenny McKinstry/ Kenny Hull	Subaru Impreza WRC	+52s
5	Pat O'Connell/ Mark Wiley	Mitsubishi Evo 9	+1m 02s
6	Enda McNulty/ Paul Sheridan	Subaru Impreza	+1m21s
7	Mark Donnelly/ Stephen O'Hanlon	Mitsubishi Evo 9	+1m24s
8	Adrian Hetherington/Gary Nolan	Ford Escort MK2	+1m27s
9	Sam Moffett/ James O'Reilly	Mitsubishi Evo 9 N	+1m45s
10	Seamus O'Connell/Emmet Sherry	Ford Escort MK2	+1m46s





This is the official McGrady Insurance NI Rally Championship Press Release, issued by Andrew Bushe Promotions- www.andrewbushe.com.