

ASSOCIATION OF NORTHERN IRELAND CAR CLUBS www.anicc.org.uk

Northern Ireland's Motorsport Competitors Celebrate Outstanding Achievement and Success!

Northern Ireland may be a relatively small country, but it is filled with motorsport talent, and that was very evident at Saturday's annual Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs' (ANICC) awards evening!

With an impressive array of more than 200 trophies, the finest competitors in the country were present at the Armagh City Hotel to receive their accolades and awards for the 2014 season.

All motorsport disciplines were represented from autotesting to racing, hill climbing and rallying, the star-studded evening was a night to remember. One positive was the number of young competitors on hand to receive trophies including William Creighton, the winner of Northern Ireland Formula 1000 Juniors where 14 to 17 year olds compete against each other in specially prepared 1000cc cars.

On hand to present many of the awards was special guest Rob Jones, MSA Chief Executive.

Together with presentations honouring all the ANICC Championship winners there were also a few surprises in store as well. The ANICC presented their Clubman of the Year Award to Malcolm McQueen from Dungannon highlighting his work for both the Dungannon Motor Club and Autotest Drivers Club along with his 20 years of commitment to the ANICC on the Association Council.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the 2014 Northern Ireland Motorsport Award which was presented to Colin Turkington, two time winner of the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) and the 2014 Autosport National Racing Driver of the Year. The award is voted for by members of the media, local motor clubs and ANICC council members and is regarded as the number one prize in Northern Ireland motorsport. Colin led the Ebay BMW team last year to win an exciting BTCC Championship where he had to compete against six other Touring Car Champions to lift the coveted award in October 2014.

Colin said: "I have been to many awards nights recently however to receive this award at home in Northern Ireland is very special. It is important to know that I have this level of support from my country and I would like to thank everyone for this great honour."

Speaking on behalf of the ANICC, Chairman Henry Campbell, said: "This has been a tremendous evening for Northern Ireland Motorsport. This small country has the ability to produce some exceptional driving talent and in 2014, many achieved their personal goals and have been recognised on the International stage."

"Whilst I also congratulate Colin Turkington on being selected for the 2014 ANICC Motorsport Award, I feel it is important to offer support and congratulations to all of our award winners. I wish everyone a safe and successful year's motorsport during 2015."

With the triumphs of 2014 behind them, competitors are gearing up towards another successful season. Many championships are already underway, and there are sure to be some tight battles in all disciplines. More details about all forms of four-wheeled motorsport in Northern Ireland can be found online at www.anicc.org.uk.

Main award winners and nominees for the 2014 Northern Ireland Motorsport Award are named below.

Photograph shows Colin Turkington receiving his ANICC Motorsport Award from Rob Jones, MSA Chief Executive (Guest presenter), Nicky Moffitt, ANICC Secretary, Robert Harkness, President and Henry Campbell, Chairman. (Photo credit to John O'Neill, Sperrins Photography).

MAIN AWARD WINNERS:

ANICC 2014 MOTORSPORT AWARD

Recipient Colin Turkington

(All nominees for this award are detailed below for information)

ANICC 2014 CLUBMAN OF THE YEAR AWARD

Recipient Malcolm McQueen

AUGHRIM FILLING STATION AUTOTEST CHAMPIONSHIP

2014 NI Autotest CHAMPION Peter Grimes

CARRYDUFF FORKLIFT / MSA N I STAGE RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP

2014 Northern Ireland Stage Rally Champions Derek McGarrity and James McKee

S.W ADAIR TYRES SPRINT CHAMPIONSHIP

2014 Sprint Champion David Hawthorn

MILLERS OILS HILLCLIMB CHAMPIONSHIP

2014 Hill Climb Champion Graham Thompson

NORTHERN IRELAND FORMULA FORD CHAMPIONSHIP

2014 NI FF1600 Champion Niall Murray

McGRADY INSURANCE N. I. NAVIGATION RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP

2014 Navigational Rally Champions Benny Grainger and David Howard

McGRADY INSURANCE JUNIOR 1000 RALLY CHALLENGE IRELAND

2014 Junior 1000 Rally Challenge Champions William Creighton and Liam Regan

NOMINEES FOR THE 2014 MOTORSPORT AWARD (ALPHABETICAL ORDER)

WILLIAM CREIGHTON What a year for this young rally driver winning both the

Northern Ireland and English (UK) F1000 Junior titles and these results leading to William being named UK Young Rally Driver of the Year at the Professional MotorSport World Expo Awards in Cologne. Probably the youngest nominee ever for this prestigious award William has much

to look forward to in his career in Motorsport.

ALASTAIR FISHER

Alastair has had another fantastic year in his Citroen DS3 R3 where early difficulties almost upset his World Championship bid however two WRC 3 wins during the year (and a fantastic class leading performance all through Wales Rally GB) gave Alastair 2nd place overall in WRC 3 just one point behind the winner and also finished second place in the Junior World Rally Championship.

KRIS MEEKE

Kris has enjoyed a stellar year in the World Rally Championship with Citroen, finishing 7th overall. A 3rd place podium finish opened the year in Monte Carlo and a further three podiums attained during the year. In later events Kris proved to be the closest competitor to the VW Polo's and has done enough to secure another full year in the WRC with Citroen for 2015.

COLIN TURKINGTON

Every motorsport fan in Northern Ireland knows that Colin has won the 2014 BTCC for a second time and has received great acclaim for this performance. Colin was also awarded the Autosport National Racing Driver of the Year award. Colin's started the 2014 BTCC year alongside six other BTCC Champions in what was going to be the most hotly contested Touring Car Championship in the world. During the year Colin stood on the podium 18 times, including 8 wins and achieved his dream of a second British Touring Car Championship at the final round on the Brands Hatch GP circuit last October. Since 2002 Colin has started 278 BTCC races, achieved 32 wins and a total of 92 podiums.