For Immediate Release: 15th February 2016





## <u>Kenny Wins Epic Battle on Round One of the 2016 MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance</u> Northern Ireland Rally Championship!

Kenny McKinstry and Aaron Faulkner stormed the final stage to take a superb victory on the Pacenotes Stages Rally, round one of the MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Rally Championship. It turned out to be a frantic race, between the two multiple N.I Champions- Kenny in his S14 WRC Impreza, and Derek McGarrity in a 1600cc WRC Fiesta. Amazingly they were tied on time entering the final stage, but McGarrity's car was in obvious trouble on the first lap, running on three cylinders. Kenny was unaware of this and was visibly on the limit. "I thought I wasn't going to make it around the corners near the pits, we were really trying. It was a great race with Derek all day and I'm very happy." As for Derek, he was the first to congratulate his long-time rival. "I'm not sure the cause of the misfire. It cleared on the second lap, so I don't know why it happened. I must say that I really enjoyed driving this car though, it's very good."

Not too far back in third was Peader Hurson in his S10 Impreza WRC, the former Irish National Champion's only drama was touching a bale in a half spin, in what were sometimes slippery conditions. Two wheel driver winner Wesley Patterson's 2.5 MK2 Escort was showing signs from a small excursion, running wide whilst trying to overtake a slower Mitsubishi, but the Lisburn driver charged up to fourth overall overtaking Alastair Cochrane who had led the two wheel race for much of the day in his 2 litre MK2. The Bushmills farmer won class 6 ending up eighth overall. Emma McKinstry completed the family success with a fine fifth, whilst Matthew McGaffin powered his Group N Mitsubishi Evo 7 into an impressive sixth, ahead of former N.I champion- George Robinson in his Group A Evo 9. Jonny Morrow brought his Evo 6 into ninth ahead of Clive Kilpatrick's Group N Evo 9.

In eleventh was championship sponsor Fintan McGrady, having a fine run in his 2.5 MK2 Escort, just 0.4 of a second ahead of Rodney White's 2 litre Vauxhall engined Sunbeam. Significant retirements included former NI Champion Stuart Biggerstaff in his S9 Impreza, the similar car of Mark Massey with engine problems, Jonny Leonard's Evo 6 with a damaged intercooler and Historic leader Richard Hall's Sierra Cosworth with an oil pipe failure.

Other class winners were: Ian Dickson- class 1 (Ford Fiesta), Colin Price- class 3 (Vauxhall Corsa), Kyle White- class 4- (Citroen C2), Johnny Cargo- class 5 (MK2 Escort), Sam Ewart- class 11-Historic (MK2 Escort), Drew Wylie- class 12- FIA Historic (MK2 Escort).

Round two of the McGrady series is on the closed road stages of the Circuit of Ireland, which takes place after Easter this year on the weekend of the 7<sup>th</sup> to 9<sup>th</sup> April.

## 2016 McGrady Insurance MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Rally Championship 2016-Round One results

1 <sup>st</sup>	Kenny McKinstry / Aaron Faulkner	Subaru Impreza S14 WRC	27:24.6
2nd	Derek McGarrity / Nigel Magee	Ford Fiesta WRC	+0:13.2
3rd	Peadar Hurson / Damien Connolly	Subaru Impreza WRC	+0:38.2
4th	Wesley Patterson / Adam Carson	Ford Escort RS	+1:38.5
5th	Emma McKinstry / Kenny Hull	Subaru Impreza WRC	+1:45.5
6th	Matthew McGaffin / Andrew McGa	ffin Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX	+1:56.8
7th	George Robinson / Tommy Speers	Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX	+2:01.2
8th	Alastair Cochrane / David Turkingto	n Ford Escort MkII	+2:03.3
9th	Jonny Morrow / Simon Morrow	Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI	+2:13.8
10th	Clive Kilpatrick / Jay Colville	Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX	+2:14.8

## 2016 McGrady Insurance MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Rally Championship 2016—Rounds

1	Pacenotes Stages-Kirkistown	Tarmac	North Armagh Motor Club	13 <sup>th</sup> February
2	Circuit of Ireland National	Tarmac	Ulster Automobile Club	7 <sup>th</sup> -9 <sup>th</sup> April
3	Tour of the Sperrins	Gravel	Magherafelt & District MC	7 <sup>th</sup> May
4	Mourne Rally	Tarmac	Newry Motor Club	11 <sup>th</sup> June
5	Tyrone Stages Rally	Tarmac	Cookstown Motor Club	30 <sup>th</sup> July
6	Ulster National Rally	Tarmac	Northern Ireland MC	19 <sup>th</sup> -20 <sup>th</sup> August
7	Bushwhacker Rally	Gravel	Omagh Motor Club	24 <sup>th</sup> September
8	Down Rally	Tarmac	Rathfriland Motor Club	15 <sup>th</sup> October

<sup>\*</sup>Reserve events- Enniskillen MC- 3th September, Ballynahinch & District MC 12<sup>th</sup> November

To keep up to date please check out the NIRC Facebook page-<u>http://www.facebook.com/nirallying</u> and check out <u>www.anicc.org.uk</u> for the series regulations and latest points. Rally results available on <u>www.rallyscore.net</u>

Copyright free images attached.

Press Release issued by Andrew Bushe Promotions- F-Andrew Bushe Promotions t-@andrew\_bushe andrew\_bushe promotions to a promotion of the promo