

## ASSOCIATION OF NORTHERN IRELAND CAR CLUBS www.anicc.org.uk

## Northern Ireland's Motorsport Competitors Celebrate Outstanding Success!

Northern Ireland is a relatively small country, but it is packed with motorsport talent which was highlighted at Saturday night's annual Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs' (ANICC) awards evening!

There was an impressive array of more than 220 perpetual cups and crystal trophies which were presented to the finest competitors in the country who were present at the Armagh City Hotel to receive their accolades and awards for the 2018 season.

All motorsport disciplines were represented from junior rallying and autotesting to racing, sprinting, hill climbing and stage rallying, the star-studded evening was a night to remember. It was fantastic to acknowledge a clean sweep for Northern Ireland Clubs and Volunteers in the prestigious JLT/Motorsport UK Club and Volunteer of the Year awards, with **Enniskillen Motor Club** lifting the overall Club of the Year award and **John Comiskey** lifting the overall UK Volunteer of the Year award. Northern Ireland also celebrated three category winners and all will attend the Motorsport UK Night of Champions at the RAC Club, Pall Mall, London on Saturday 26<sup>th</sup> January 2019.

On hand to present many of the awards was Hugh Chambers, Chief Executive of Motorsport UK.

Together with presentations honouring all the ANICC Championship winners there were also other surprises in store. The ANICC presented a very well deserved 2018 Clubman of the Year Award to **William Heaney** from Bangor marking his contribution to the sport through the Thoroughbred Sports Car Club, as an outstanding club official at events for over 30 years and also a successful competitor in local race and speed Championships.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the **2018 ANICC Northern Ireland Motorsport Award** which was presented to triple British Touring Car Champion **Colin Turkington** for his achievements in winning this prestigious Championship again in 2018. This award is voted for by members of the media, local motor clubs and ANICC council members and is regarded as the number one prize in Northern Ireland motorsport. Colin has previously won this award in 2014 and on receiving the award this year, Colin said: "This is a great honour for me to receive this award at home and it means a great deal to me to know that I have such immense support from motorsport in Northern Ireland. The BTCC is very competitive and I have been dubbed 'the Keke Rosberg of Touring Car races' taking a Championship win with only one race win all season."

Speaking on behalf of the ANICC, Chairman Henry Campbell, said: "This has been a tremendous evening for Northern Ireland Motorsport. This small country has the ability to produce exceptional driving talent and many achieved their personal goals in 2018 and have been recognised across the world and UK. Henry expressed his personal support for all volunteers who work in the sport from Northern Ireland and particularly again this year with Northern Ireland Clubs and Volunteers claiming all the major awards from Motorsport UK."

"Finally, Henry also congratulated Colin Turkington on receiving the Northern Ireland Motorsport Award and said: "It is important to offer support and congratulations to all of our award winners. I wish everyone a safe and successful year's motorsport during 2019."

With the triumphs of 2018 behind them, competitors are gearing up towards another successful season. Many championships are already underway, and there are sure to be some tight battles in all disciplines. More details about all forms of four-wheeled motorsport in Northern Ireland can be found online at <a href="https://www.anicc.org.uk">www.anicc.org.uk</a>.

Main award winners and nominees for the 2018 Northern Ireland Motorsport Award are named below.

Photograph shows Colin Turkington receiving the ANICC Northern Ireland Motorsport Award from (left) Nicky Moffitt, ANICC Secretary, Colin Turkington, Hugh Chambers and Henry Campbell, ANICC Chairman (Photo credit to John O'Neill, Sperrins Photography).

## **MAIN AWARD WINNERS:**

**ANICC 2018 NORTHERN IRELAND MOTORSPORT AWARD** 

Recipient Colin Turkington

(All nominees for this award are detailed below for information)

**ANICC 2018 CLUBMAN OF THE YEAR AWARD** 

Recipient William Heaney

**SAM BOWDEN GARAGE SERVICES AUTOTEST CHAMPIONSHIP** 

2018 NI Autotest CHAMPION Steven Ferguson

McGRADY INSURANCE / MSA N I STAGE RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP

2018 Northern Ireland Stage Rally Champions Derek McGarrity and Paddy Robinson

S.W ADAIR TYRES SPRINT CHAMPIONSHIP

2018 Sprint Champion Adrian Pollock

MILLERS OILS HILLCLIMB CHAMPIONSHIP

2018 Hill Climb Champion Gerard O'Connell

NORTHERN IRELAND FORMULA FORD CHAMPIONSHIP

2018 NI FF1600 Champion Matt Round-Garrido

McGRADY INSURANCE JUNIOR 1000 RALLY CHALLENGE IRELAND

2018 Junior 1000 Rally Challenge Champion Marcus McElwee and John Henderson

**SPECIAL ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS** 

JLT/Motorsport UK Club of the Year – Overall UK Club Enniskillen Motor Club

JLT/Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Overall UK winner John Comiskey

JLT/Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Steward/Clerk Category winner Paddy Haveron

JLT/Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Marshals Category winner Denis Arundell

JLT/Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Other category winner Lucinda McKee

JLT/Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Other category runner-up Mark King

## NOMINEES FOR THE 2018 MOTORSPORT AWARD (ALPHABETICAL ORDER)

JON ARMSTRONG

Jon, from County Fermanagh is the E-sport World Rally Champion – a major accolade given the number of people throughout the world who competed for this prestigious award. Jon has had considerable success as an International Rally Driver with numerous awards including funding to participate in WRC2 on three WRC rounds in 2017 on board an M-Sport Fiesta R5 however like many talented drivers sponsorship support was difficult to obtain and Jon entered the E-sport WRC with huge success. Jon is currently working in England to develop a new rally game. Another Northern Ireland World Champion – deserved of his nomination tonight.

**DANIEL HARPER** 

At just 18 years of age Daniel has a wealth of motorsport experience with numerous event and championship wins during each year since starting competition on Quad bikes during 2006. Daniel also competed very successfully on Karts since 2012, entered F1000 Junior Stage Rallying during 2015 and now competing in Car Racing during 2016 and 2017 where he has two successful years in the Ginetta Junior Championship supporting the BTCC and finishing 2016 as Rookie Champion and 3<sup>rd</sup> Overall in the 2017 Championship. At Christmas 2017 (just 12 months ago) Daniel won the Porsche Carrera Cup GB Scholarship (a two year award) and during his rookie year in the Porsche Carrera Cup GB he set a number of pole positions and won several races outright finishing the year 5th overall in the Championship. We all wish Daniel well for 2019 in his bid to secure this very prestigious title and he is a very worthy nominee tonight for our main Motorsport award.

**COLIN TURKINGTON** 

What an achievement for Colin Turkington from Portadown – 2018 British Touring Car Champion and now a three-time BTCC Champion following an astounding year in 2018. BTCC is probably the most competitive Touring Car Championship in the world. Colin has 46 BTCC International race wins, he has been on the BTCC podium on 133 occasions and he has been awarded 2 Silver Stars from the British Racing Drivers Club. It is widely acknowledged that Colin is one of the fastest and most consistent Touring Car Drivers in the world and his nomination tonight is well deserved following his third BTCC title win in 2018.